Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
GovTT Logo

Queen's Park Cricket Club donates extensive cricket library to National Archives


QPCC donates cricket library

Photo (Left to right): Roma Wong Sang (Senior Archives and Records Officer), Avril Belfon (Government Archivist), Colin Murray (Secretary, QPCC), Nasser Khan (Project Co-Ordinator), and Nigel Camacho (President, QPCC).


The iconic Queen’s Park Oval Cricket Club handed over its extensive cricket library (over 300 books) to the National Archives of Trinidad and Tobago on Friday 18 December 2020.  The official handover took place at the Club’s Museum on Tragarete Road, Port of Spain.

On hand to receive the collection from the National Archives were Avril Belfon, Government Archivist and Roma Wong Sang, Senior Archivist as well as QPCC’s President Nigel Camacho, Secretary Colin Murray and project coordinators Starlene Noel and Nasser Khan.

This veritable collection is the meticulous and voluntary work done by QPCC’s member and resident archivist Stephen Almandoz, who for over five decades has worked tirelessly in preserving much of the history of the 130 year old club, most of which is prominently displayed at the QPCC Museum. Credit must also be given to others like the late Gerry Gomez and Phil Thompson.

Among the books in the Queen’s Park Cricket Club Book Collection which will be available to the public for reference at the National Archives on St. Vincent St., Port of Spain, are Wisden Annuals from the 1930’s, T&T Cricket Board’s Annuals from the 1960’s and 70’s, many Biographies on our past cricket greats, Statistics publications and classics such as CLR James’ Beyond a Boundary.